Why go travelling at 35?!?

There are no limits to the majestic future which lies before the mighty expanse of Canada with its virile, aspiring, cultured, and generous-hearted people. – Sir Winston Churchill

 On June 22nd 2016 my boyfriend of nearly 2 years, Fergus and I are setting off to Canada on a 23 month working holiday visa.
 I am 35 and Fergus is 31. We both have steady well-paying jobs in London, we did have a nice flat we loved, we have lots of friends and very busy work and social lives. Fergus has family in London and his sister is getting married a week before we leave.

So why go travelling at our age??

 I have lived in New Zealand, Australia and the UK for the last 10 years and I have been on A LOT of holidays. 

Growing up in NZ we went away as a family every school holidays, either Skiing in Queenstown, Surfing in Kakanui, Tramping in the Southern Alps somewhere or Camping in Nelson. As a teenager I’d go away with friends for the whole of the holidays and go fruit picking while living in a van or Travelling round the North Island.

 After moving to Australia at 19, I lived in hostels and tents but wasn’t really travelling, I just had no money! I eventually got a good job and a lovely flat (with a pool and Jacuzzi surrounded in palm trees and sun lounges) and blended in with the locals in the tropical North. I went on a few trips, mainly around Australia and to NZ but never actually backpacking for a long period of time.

 In 2006 I arrived in the UK, not on my big OE like most other Kiwis, but to settle down and find a job in a small town in Berkshire. Since I have been in the UK I have been on some unforgettable holidays including 5 star luxury trips to Las Vegas, 2 weeks in beautiful South Africa, Villa stays in Portugal and 4 trips home, one with stopovers in LA and Hong Kong.

 But after all this when people ask me if I have been travelling I say no. I have not had to live out of a backpack and travel constantly. I have not had to wear dirty clothes because I had no washing machine to use and I have not had the chance to get up every morning and not have to go to work but do something exciting, meaningful and potentially life changing.

On June 22nd that will all change……

  
 

 

Leave a Reply

