Memories of the tropics…

This evening was the first evening shift I did alone at Brewster’s Mountain Lodge (BML) and with only around 52% occupancy and a handful of check ins it was a pretty slow night.While looking at Google Earth, as one does when they have time to spare and a computer, I stumbled upon Port Douglas. Over the years I have wandered down the streets of ‘Port’ via street view or had a look at the Sheraton Mirage Resort website just to see how its changed or to show someone the beautiful paradise I used to work in.I still feel a hint of sadness that I left such a beautiful place but then I quickly remember why I did so and that was to travel, and travel I certainly did! After leaving North Queensland I have travelled to over 20 countries, spent 10 years in England and now I am on a working holiday visa in Canada.

Its funny how these 2 resorts, one in Tropical Northern Australia and the other in the Canadian Rocky Mountains are so very similar.They are both urrounded by incredible, world renowned areas of natural beauty,

  • Banff – The mountains, lakes, glaciers and rivers
  • Port Douglas – The reef, rainforest, rivers and tablelands

They both rely on tourists to survive after being small industrial towns

  • Banff – First settled in the 1880s, after the transcontinental railway was built through the Bow Valley.
  • Port Douglas – The township was established in 1877 after the discovery of gold at Hodgkinson River.

They both have very dangerous animals living in and around them 

  • Banff – Grizzly/Black bears, Cougars, Elk, Moose
  • Port Douglas – Crockodiles, Jellyfish, Cassowary, Snakes, Spiders, 

When I arrived in Port I was 19, fresh out of collage, a little immature and raring to party! My first job was there, and so were my next 20 or so. I was hired and fired numerous times and wasn’t really that bothered about my job as there was always another around the corner, and if not, the bank of Mum and Dad was there to help out. I did housekeeping, turndown service, waitressing, bar work and worked at a tour desk.I did manage to stay at the magnificent Sheraton Mirage Resort for 3 plus years and was basically running the swim up Ocean Breeze Bar while also working in both the buffet and fine dining restaurants, the bakery, the activities centre, the Cocktail bar and helping with banquets. It was hard work but I really loved working there. I was eventually fired for calling in sick after a night out, the local snooker competition end of season drinks in fact. My F&B manager was also in a team so instantly knew where I had been. Massive fail but I was probably time to move on anyway.I loved living in the tropics, walking down beautiful 4-mile beach to work, sometimes stopping for a dip, sailing to the Low Isles on huge yachts while drinking cocktails and laughing and singing, trips to the Daintree Rainforest for raves and fishing, lazy days sunbathing on the beach and of course all the Sunday sessions with the locals at the Courty Pub.While Port has a population of 4,454 permanent residents, Banff has around 7,584 so is a lot bigger but also due to being in a National Park can’t get a lot bigger due to building legislation whereas they are constantly building new resorts and apartments in Port and in a few years I wouldn’t be surprised if it joined Craigie. (The next settlement)
What is similar about these towns is the lifestyle and the people that come here. Banff is bursting with young 19 year olds, fresh out of collage, a little immature and raring to party! Being the ripe old age of 36, when I walk down the street I see loads of younger people doing what I did all those years ago and have heard stories about people not being that responsible and getting fired from jobs for this that and the next thing. History repeats itself….

Instead of living next to the Great Barrier Reef, its Islands and the Rainforest I am now in amongst towering mountains, alpine lakes and most importantly ski fields, 3 of them in this area and more a bit further away. Heaven!I am so so so excited about finally doing a ski season, not just anywhere, but in Canada, the ultimate ski destination. I look back at my past and yes, sometimes I feel a bit sad thinking about the good times and friends I met back then but then I think of what my future holds, more good times, more new friends, adventure, excitement and fun.I may now be 36 and more mature (just a little bit) but I still have that 19 year old’s passion and drive for adventure, meeting new people and living life to the fullest.

‘Not all those who wander are lost’ J.R.R Tolkein

 

 

Leave a Reply

